Author Topic: DLL/EXE files  (Read 3022 times)

Aviation_nerd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
DLL/EXE files
« on: January 14, 2017, 09:19:55 am »
Attached are the files to resolve the issues I am having with my addons. I hope these are the correct ones.
thanks
Christopher

virtuali

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 50875
    • VIRTUALI Sagl
Re: DLL/EXE files
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2017, 11:38:01 am »
You had an error in the section that calls Ultimate Traffic, it's like this:


<Launch.Addon>
    <Disabled>False</Disabled>
    <ManualLoad>False</ManualLoad>
    <Name>UT2</Nam
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Flight One Software\Ultimate Traffic 2/UT2Services.exe</path>
    <NewConsole>True</NewConsole>
  </Launch.Addon>



But it should be like this:


<Launch.Addon>
    <Disabled>False</Disabled>
    <ManualLoad>False</ManualLoad>
    <Name>UT2</Name>
    <Path>C:\Program Files (x86)\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Flight One Software\Ultimate Traffic 2/UT2Services.exe</Path>
    <NewConsole>True</NewConsole>
  </Launch.Addon>



The <Name> tag wasn't closed correctly, and the <Path> opening tag was entirely missing. Also, inserting the whole simulator path is redundant if you need to refer to an addon that is installed there so, it could have been better written like this:



<Launch.Addon>
    <Disabled>False</Disabled>
    <ManualLoad>False</ManualLoad>
    <Name>UT2</Name>
    <Path>Flight One Software\Ultimate Traffic 2/UT2Services.exe</Path>
    <NewConsole>True</NewConsole>
  </Launch.Addon>


« Last Edit: January 14, 2017, 11:41:41 am by virtuali »

Aviation_nerd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: DLL/EXE files
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2017, 11:43:48 am »
alright thanks for the help. i just need to copy the text from here into the file to get it working properly again?

virtuali

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 50875
    • VIRTUALI Sagl
Re: DLL/EXE files
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2017, 11:45:04 am »
alright thanks for the help. i just need to copy the text from here into the file to get it working properly again?

In the proper section of the EXE.XML file, leaving the other sections, which seemed right.

Aviation_nerd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: DLL/EXE files
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2017, 11:58:00 am »
I tried fixing the error and i'm still getting it. would be a good idea to simply uninstall my P3D and reinstall it with a fresh installer?

virtuali

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 50875
    • VIRTUALI Sagl
Re: DLL/EXE files
« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2017, 12:13:36 pm »
I tried fixing the error and i'm still getting it. would be a good idea to simply uninstall my P3D and reinstall it with a fresh installer?

As I told you in the other thread I replied to, P3D has two locations where you can find XML files, under %APPDATA% and under %PROGRAMDATA%. You sent only one set of files to check.

Maybe you have ANOTHER error (maybe the same one, if you just copy the corrupted file from one place to the other) in the XML file located in the other folder, the one you haven't sent.

Aviation_nerd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: DLL/EXE files
« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2017, 09:52:44 pm »
Just wanted to say thanks for the help in assisting me trying to get my products working as they should. I had done a fresh install of the sim and it is working quite nicely.
thanks
Christopher
« Last Edit: January 16, 2017, 11:47:44 am by virtuali »