Author Topic: Updating GSX Pro  (Read 1868 times)

glc100o

Updating GSX Pro
« on: October 24, 2022, 07:32:42 pm »
Virtuali,

Just some customer feedback. I have been using FSDT products including GSX since FSX and on into P3D. This issue with desynchronized Cloudfare nodes, whatever that is has been present since P3D days and causing your customers problems with the program not functioning properly.

Other add ons I use do not have problems with updating their programs. For example the PMDG updater indicates  the current version, the newest version, and then updates it and says you now have the most updated version when you press update. Same for Flightbeam.

The new Universal Installer interface is a great step forward for customers, as was consolidating all FSDT products in one location.

But I am not a computer expert and I think its asking too much of customers to have to download  an online installer, then run Live Update on the Universal Installer (or is it the other way around) and try to figure out what files are always being downloaded and which are not and decide whether we have the latest updates and then decide if the problem one has is due to unsynchronized and out of date program. All these file types are obvious to you but not obvious to the run of the mill customer. And as others have commented these file downloads fly by at the speed of light making it even harder to figure out what is happening. And on top of that the original post never elucidates whether this process is perpetual for every update you will ever issue for GSX Pro or not. All of this just adds to customer inconvenience and confusion and frustration.

I would issue a plea to resolve this problem to make updates seamless for the customer. Maybe you need to issue and update and wait a week before notifying customers. Or like apparently other companies have the update from only one site.