Author Topic: GSX Won't Activate - again  (Read 2413 times)

X24

GSX Won't Activate - again
« on: August 29, 2021, 08:52:37 am »
I am done with GSX. I have been using it for several years but I am seriously annoyed at the program failing to work on a regular basis. Out of all the flight sim software I have used over the years this has been the most unstable, requiring me to uninstall and reinstall many, many times.

The latest issue is that without me changing ANYTHING, suddenly GSX decided to revert to trial mode. It does not recognise the .reg files, and stays in trial mode even though in the addon manager it is showing as registered, and even active.

It's a nice idea, but I don't have time to mess about with stuff that causes so many problems. Quite a number of my fellow simmers feel the same way, so it's not just me.
« Last Edit: September 02, 2021, 04:54:33 am by X24 »
Cheers,

Chris

Ray Proudfoot

• Cheadle Hulme Weather
Re: GSX Won't Activate - again. I do not recommend this product.
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2021, 12:04:57 am »
It’s almost certainly connected to a problem with couatl.exe not running. Have you checked if it is? GSX requires that program to be running or it goes into trial mode.
Cheers,
Ray.

P3Dv5.3HF2, i9-13900K @ 5.5Ghz, RTX4090, 32Gb RAM, 4Tb Crucial T700 NVMe SSD, BenQ 32” 30Hz monitor at 3840*2160 with VSync.

X24

« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2021, 05:58:21 am »
Sorry mate, I've uninstalled this utility.

I've been using it since 2016 and splashed out and bought V2, and while a nice idea, I made a decision recently to only use things that work without me having to uninstall, reinstall, or check if something's running that should be (or shouldn't...), which I have had to do too many times.

Good luck with it all. I'll stick to the sceneries for now.

Cheers,

Chris

Ray Proudfoot

• Cheadle Hulme Weather
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2021, 09:33:44 am »