Author Topic: Modifying AFCAD for GSX  (Read 3693 times)

SoloWing

Modifying AFCAD for GSX
« on: December 23, 2012, 05:38:23 pm »
I work as a scenery designer for a small FSX community, and the members have been brow beating me over making KBDL compatible with GSX in the multiplayer environment. Broken hearted, I have finally agreed to investigate that possibility. The issue is, we decided years ago to sacrifice SDK-compliant code in favor of maing the markings, runways, taxiways, etc. more realistic and less rigid. The result is outstanding for using default tools, but because our parking isn't connected to the taxiway network  (to allow for custom parking lines), GSX won't work with our current steups no matter what gate codes are used.

I wish not to sacrifice what looks more realistic, and at the same neck, I don't have the time to spend making custom ground polys for all of our scenery. Just not worth it for something I do as a volunteer. That being said, FSDeveloper has briefly considered that the same "piping" associated with "drive through parking" plumbing in ADE could allow GSX to work. Does this theory hold any water, or is there any other direction I can go to get GSX working with our afcads without connecting our current parking to the taxiway networks?

virtuali

• Administrator
    • VIRTUALI Sagl
Re: Modifying AFCAD for GSX
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2012, 06:33:40 pm »
GSX won't see any parkings not connected with the taxiway layout, there's no way around it. Also, many services in GSX rely on finding the most efficient route along the AFCAD taxiway layout, and if something like the "plumbing" technique is used, that would entirely confuse what is an "efficient" routing, people will have to wait a long time for the vehicles to show up, because they are lost in the plumbings...