Author Topic: registration issue/directory  (Read 2506 times)

Johnathan Pata

registration issue/directory
« on: January 08, 2018, 07:08:54 pm »
hey guys,

I am new to p3d so maybe this is why i am confused. I have P3D v4 installed on my D: drive as I have my FSX but the problem I am having is that in p3d I am not able to select a drive, the directory is greyed out and when I do install it I am able to register the product but it stays in trial mode.

Thank you for the help
Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-10850K
OPERATING SYSTEM:Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium, 64Bit
HARD DRIVE: 1 SAMSUNG EVO 840 SSD with 2TB HDD and a 875W Multi-GPU Approved Power Supply
MEMORY: 32GB Dual Channel DDR3 at 1333MHz   
VIDEO CARD:4GB NVIDIA GTX 960

virtuali

• Administrator
    • VIRTUALI Sagl
Re: registration issue/directory
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2018, 07:37:55 pm »
I am not able to select a drive, the directory is greyed out and when I do install it

You are probably assuming the products would install "into" the sim, which is no longer the case. Even in FSX, we do not install into the sim folder anymore, but in an FSDT folder, which by default it's "C:\Program Files (x86)\Addon Manager", which will be used and shared by all sim and all products.

This folder can be chosen freely only the first time you install an FSDT product, so it's now greyed because you are running another installation (again, regardless of the sim).

So, first, I hope you haven't changed default and set the FSX folder as the destination folder, because now that you finally have the freedom to install OUTSIDE the sim, not accepting the default folder and installing INTO the sim, it's probably the worse possible idea. Of course, we allow you to change the default, because you might not have enough space into the C: drive, but that doesn't mean you should install inside the sim and, in fact, it's best if you don't.